Home / Media / Press Releases

adidas Creates Area Russia/CIS and Strengthens Area Emerging Markets

October 07, 2005

Herzogenaurach, October 7, 2005 – adidas Region Europe has reorganized its business in Russia/CIS and in the so-called Area Emerging Markets, to strengthen these markets and position the regions for further growth.

With immediate effect, Russia/CIS (Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Uzbekistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan) is elevated to Area status to further develop this fast growing market. Area Emerging Markets now consists of Zone Middle (Turkey, Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus), the Middle East and Africa.

“After successfully combining operations in Northern, Central and Southern Europe, we now have the right organizational structure and all the key players in place to strengthen our business even further and to continue our success in this part of the region, where our business is developing extremely well,” said Roland Auschel, Head of adidas Region Europe, Middle East and Africa.

With the newly created Area Russia/CIS, current MD Martin Shankland (33) will now report directly to Roland Auschel. After joining adidas Moscow in 1997 as Director Finance & Controlling, Martin Shankland became MD of adidas Moscow in 2000.

Osman Ayaz (49), who successfully led the Zone Middle business over the last years, will assume the role of MD adidas Emerging Markets. He will move to Dubai where he will also be responsible for adidas Middle East. After joining adidas in 1988 and holding various positions, he became MD adidas Turkey in 1999 and with increased responsibilities MD adidas Zone Middle in 2003. Osman Ayaz will report to Roland Auschel.

Haluk Ozmutlu (39) will take over as MD adidas Zone Middle and will remain in Istanbul. When joining adidas Turkey in 1998 he worked in several sales positions which led him to his current position of Commercial Director. Haluk Ozmutlu will report to Osman Ayaz.

Region Europe, including Area Emerging Markets, Area Russia/CIS, Area France and Area Italy covers eight Areas. Area Central comprises Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovenia and Slovakia. Area North consists of UK, Ireland and the Benelux. Area Iberia includes Spain and Portugal and Area Nordic incorporates Scandinavia and the Baltic States.